Clearify the documentation for core.ignoreStat
authorMarius Storm-Olsen <marius@trolltech.com>
Fri, 30 May 2008 11:14:24 +0000 (13:14 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 31 May 2008 20:09:39 +0000 (13:09 -0700)
The previous documentation didn't make it clear that the
"assume unchanged" was on per file basis, and not a global
flag.

Signed-off-by: Marius Storm-Olsen <marius@trolltech.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt

index c298dc2..5331b45 100644 (file)
@@ -205,10 +205,13 @@ Can be overridden by the 'GIT_PROXY_COMMAND' environment variable
 handling).
 
 core.ignoreStat::
-       The working copy files are assumed to stay unchanged until you
-       mark them otherwise manually - Git will not detect the file changes
-       by lstat() calls. This is useful on systems where those are very
-       slow, such as Microsoft Windows.  See linkgit:git-update-index[1].
+       If true, commands which modify both the working tree and the index
+       will mark the updated paths with the "assume unchanged" bit in the
+       index. These marked files are then assumed to stay unchanged in the
+       working copy, until you mark them otherwise manually - Git will not
+       detect the file changes by lstat() calls. This is useful on systems
+       where those are very slow, such as Microsoft Windows.
+       See linkgit:git-update-index[1].
        False by default.
 
 core.preferSymlinkRefs::