dir.c: stop ignoring opendir() error in open_cached_dir()
authorNguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Jan 2018 09:30:23 +0000 (16:30 +0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 2 Feb 2018 18:16:23 +0000 (10:16 -0800)
A follow-up to the recently fixed bugs in the untracked
invalidation. If opendir() fails it should show a warning, perhaps
this should die, but if this ever happens the error is probably
recoverable for the user, and dying would just make things worse.

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avarab@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
dir.c

diff --git a/dir.c b/dir.c
index 44b4dd2..55736d3 100644 (file)
--- a/dir.c
+++ b/dir.c
@@ -1787,11 +1787,16 @@ static int open_cached_dir(struct cached_dir *cdir,
                           struct strbuf *path,
                           int check_only)
 {
+       const char *c_path;
+
        memset(cdir, 0, sizeof(*cdir));
        cdir->untracked = untracked;
        if (valid_cached_dir(dir, untracked, istate, path, check_only))
                return 0;
-       cdir->fdir = opendir(path->len ? path->buf : ".");
+       c_path = path->len ? path->buf : ".";
+       cdir->fdir = opendir(c_path);
+       if (!cdir->fdir)
+               warning_errno(_("could not open directory '%s'"), c_path);
        if (dir->untracked) {
                invalidate_directory(dir->untracked, untracked);
                dir->untracked->dir_opened++;