format-patch: --numbered-files and --stdout aren't mutually exclusive
authorStephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Sun, 22 Mar 2009 04:32:43 +0000 (21:32 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 22 Mar 2009 05:45:28 +0000 (22:45 -0700)
For example:

    git format-patch --numbered-files --stdout --attach HEAD~~

will create two messages with files 1 and 2 attached respectively.
Without --attach/--inline but with --stdout, --numbered-files option
can be simply ignored, because we are not creating any file ourselves.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-format-patch.txt
builtin-log.c

index 11a7d77..dc40f47 100644 (file)
@@ -96,7 +96,6 @@ include::diff-options.txt[]
 --numbered-files::
        Output file names will be a simple number sequence
        without the default first line of the commit appended.
-       Mutually exclusive with the --stdout option.
 
 -k::
 --keep-subject::
index 2ae39af..0f0adf2 100644 (file)
@@ -917,8 +917,6 @@ int cmd_format_patch(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                die ("-n and -k are mutually exclusive.");
        if (keep_subject && subject_prefix)
                die ("--subject-prefix and -k are mutually exclusive.");
-       if (numbered_files && use_stdout)
-               die ("--numbered-files and --stdout are mutually exclusive.");
 
        argc = setup_revisions(argc, argv, &rev, "HEAD");
        if (argc > 1)