shortlog: support --pretty=format: option
authorJohannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de>
Mon, 14 Jul 2008 18:08:52 +0000 (19:08 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 15 Jul 2008 14:37:00 +0000 (07:37 -0700)
With this patch, the user can override the default setting, to print
the commit messages using a user format instead of the onelines of the
commits.  Example:

$ git shortlog --pretty='format:%s (%h)' <commit>..

Note that shortlog will only respect a user format setting, as the other
formats do not make much sense.

Wished for by Andrew Morton.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-shortlog.c
shortlog.h

index 0136202..f8bcbfc 100644 (file)
@@ -154,6 +154,15 @@ void shortlog_add_commit(struct shortlog *log, struct commit *commit)
        if (!author)
                die("Missing author: %s",
                    sha1_to_hex(commit->object.sha1));
+       if (log->user_format) {
+               struct strbuf buf = STRBUF_INIT;
+
+               pretty_print_commit(CMIT_FMT_USERFORMAT, commit, &buf,
+                       DEFAULT_ABBREV, "", "", DATE_NORMAL, 0);
+               insert_one_record(log, author, buf.buf);
+               strbuf_release(&buf);
+               return;
+       }
        if (*buffer)
                buffer++;
        insert_one_record(log, author, !*buffer ? "<none>" : buffer);
@@ -271,6 +280,8 @@ parse_done:
                usage_with_options(shortlog_usage, options);
        }
 
+       log.user_format = rev.commit_format == CMIT_FMT_USERFORMAT;
+
        /* assume HEAD if from a tty */
        if (!nongit && !rev.pending.nr && isatty(0))
                add_head_to_pending(&rev);
index 31ff491..6608ee8 100644 (file)
@@ -11,6 +11,7 @@ struct shortlog {
        int wrap;
        int in1;
        int in2;
+       int user_format;
 
        char *common_repo_prefix;
        int email;