p7519: improve check for prerequisite WATCHMAN
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Sat, 16 Dec 2017 12:12:23 +0000 (13:12 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 18 Dec 2017 22:00:45 +0000 (14:00 -0800)
The return code of command -v with a non-existing command is 1 in bash
and 127 in dash.  Use that return code directly to allow the script to
work with dash and without watchman (e.g. on Debian).

While at it stop redirecting the output.  stderr is redirected to
/dev/null by test_lazy_prereq already, and stdout can actually be
useful -- the path of the found watchman executable is sent there, but
it's shown only if the script was run with --verbose.

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Acked-by: Ben Peart <benpeart@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/perf/p7519-fsmonitor.sh

index 16d1bf7..65e145c 100755 (executable)
@@ -40,8 +40,7 @@ test_lazy_prereq UNTRACKED_CACHE '
 '
 
 test_lazy_prereq WATCHMAN '
-       { command -v watchman >/dev/null 2>&1; ret=$?; } &&
-       test $ret -ne 1
+       command -v watchman
 '
 
 if test_have_prereq WATCHMAN