read_gitfile_gently: use ssize_t to hold read result
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:28:44 +0000 (12:28 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 18:25:13 +0000 (11:25 -0700)
Otherwise, a negative error return becomes a very large read
value. We catch this in practice because we compare the
expected and actual numbers of bytes (and you are not likely
to be reading (size_t)-1 bytes), but this makes the
correctness a little more obvious.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
setup.c

diff --git a/setup.c b/setup.c
index dadc666..a975c8b 100644 (file)
--- a/setup.c
+++ b/setup.c
@@ -272,7 +272,7 @@ const char *read_gitfile_gently(const char *path)
        const char *slash;
        struct stat st;
        int fd;
-       size_t len;
+       ssize_t len;
 
        if (stat(path, &st))
                return NULL;