branch_get_push: do not segfault when HEAD is detached
authorKyle Meyer <kyle@kyleam.com>
Sat, 7 Jan 2017 01:12:15 +0000 (20:12 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 8 Jan 2017 03:20:07 +0000 (19:20 -0800)
Move the detached HEAD check from branch_get_push_1() to
branch_get_push() to avoid setting branch->push_tracking_ref when
branch is NULL.

Signed-off-by: Kyle Meyer <kyle@kyleam.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
remote.c
t/t1514-rev-parse-push.sh

index a326e4e..d1a7a40 100644 (file)
--- a/remote.c
+++ b/remote.c
@@ -1717,9 +1717,6 @@ static const char *branch_get_push_1(struct branch *branch, struct strbuf *err)
 {
        struct remote *remote;
 
-       if (!branch)
-               return error_buf(err, _("HEAD does not point to a branch"));
-
        remote = remote_get(pushremote_for_branch(branch, NULL));
        if (!remote)
                return error_buf(err,
@@ -1779,6 +1776,9 @@ static const char *branch_get_push_1(struct branch *branch, struct strbuf *err)
 
 const char *branch_get_push(struct branch *branch, struct strbuf *err)
 {
+       if (!branch)
+               return error_buf(err, _("HEAD does not point to a branch"));
+
        if (!branch->push_tracking_ref)
                branch->push_tracking_ref = branch_get_push_1(branch, err);
        return branch->push_tracking_ref;
index 7214f5b..623a32a 100755 (executable)
@@ -60,4 +60,10 @@ test_expect_success '@{push} with push refspecs' '
        resolve topic@{push} refs/remotes/origin/magic/topic
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'resolving @{push} fails with a detached HEAD' '
+       git checkout HEAD^0 &&
+       test_when_finished "git checkout -" &&
+       test_must_fail git rev-parse @{push}
+'
+
 test_done