ci: disable Homebrew's auto cleanup
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder.dev@gmail.com>
Wed, 3 Jul 2019 10:47:48 +0000 (12:47 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Jul 2019 16:53:57 +0000 (09:53 -0700)
Lately Homebrew learned to automagically clean up information about
outdated packages during other 'brew' commands, which might be useful
for the avarage user, but is a waste of time in CI build jobs, because
the next build jobs will start from the exact same image containing
the same outdated packages anyway.

Export HOMEBREW_NO_INSTALL_CLEANUP=1 to disable this auto cleanup feature,
shaving off about 20-30s from the time needed to install dependencies
in our macOS build jobs on Travis CI.

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder.dev@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
ci/install-dependencies.sh

index 7f546c8..8cc7250 100755 (executable)
@@ -34,7 +34,7 @@ linux-clang|linux-gcc)
        popd
        ;;
 osx-clang|osx-gcc)
-       export HOMEBREW_NO_AUTO_UPDATE=1
+       export HOMEBREW_NO_AUTO_UPDATE=1 HOMEBREW_NO_INSTALL_CLEANUP=1
        # Uncomment this if you want to run perf tests:
        # brew install gnu-time
        test -z "$BREW_INSTALL_PACKAGES" ||