help: Do not unnecessarily look for a repository
authorDavid Aguilar <davvid@gmail.com>
Tue, 1 Dec 2009 19:27:34 +0000 (11:27 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 1 Dec 2009 20:10:09 +0000 (12:10 -0800)
Although 'git help' actually doesn't need to be run inside a git
repository and uses no repository-specific information, it looks for a git
directory.  Searching for a git directory can be annoying in auto-mount
environments.  With this commit, 'git help' no longer searches for a
repository when run without any options.

7c3baa9 originally modified 'git help -a' to not require a repository.
This applies the same fix for 'git help'.

Signed-off-by: David Aguilar <davvid@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-help.c

index ca08519..09ad4b0 100644 (file)
@@ -427,9 +427,6 @@ int cmd_help(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                return 0;
        }
 
-       setup_git_directory_gently(&nongit);
-       git_config(git_help_config, NULL);
-
        if (!argv[0]) {
                printf("usage: %s\n\n", git_usage_string);
                list_common_cmds_help();
@@ -437,6 +434,9 @@ int cmd_help(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                return 0;
        }
 
+       setup_git_directory_gently(&nongit);
+       git_config(git_help_config, NULL);
+
        alias = alias_lookup(argv[0]);
        if (alias && !is_git_command(argv[0])) {
                printf("`git %s' is aliased to `%s'\n", argv[0], alias);