apply: make --verbose a little more useful
authorJohannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de>
Thu, 22 Feb 2007 19:11:21 +0000 (20:11 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Fri, 23 Feb 2007 04:58:36 +0000 (20:58 -0800)
When a patch fails, I automatically add '-v' to the command line
to see what fails.

This patch makes -v a synonym to --verbose, and actually tells
the user which text was not found.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
builtin-apply.c

index 3fefdac..17f4ad5 100644 (file)
@@ -1655,6 +1655,8 @@ static int apply_one_fragment(struct buffer_desc *desc, struct fragment *frag, i
                        /* Ignore it, we already handled it */
                        break;
                default:
+                       if (apply_verbosely)
+                               error("invalid start of line: '%c'", first);
                        return -1;
                }
                patch += len;
@@ -1752,6 +1754,9 @@ static int apply_one_fragment(struct buffer_desc *desc, struct fragment *frag, i
                }
        }
 
+       if (offset && apply_verbosely)
+               error("while searching for:\n%.*s", oldsize, oldlines);
+
        free(old);
        free(new);
        return offset;
@@ -2692,7 +2697,7 @@ int cmd_apply(int argc, const char **argv, const char *unused_prefix)
                        apply = apply_with_reject = apply_verbosely = 1;
                        continue;
                }
-               if (!strcmp(arg, "--verbose")) {
+               if (!strcmp(arg, "-v") || !strcmp(arg, "--verbose")) {
                        apply_verbosely = 1;
                        continue;
                }