http: fix the silent ignoring of proxy misconfiguraion
authorSergey Ryazanov <ryazanov.s.a@gmail.com>
Tue, 11 Apr 2017 20:22:19 +0000 (23:22 +0300)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 13 Apr 2017 22:51:33 +0000 (15:51 -0700)
Earlier, the whole http.proxy option string was passed to curl without
any preprocessing so curl could complain about the invalid proxy
configuration.

After the commit 372370f167 ("http: use credential API to handle proxy
authentication", 2016-01-26), if the user specified an invalid HTTP
proxy option in the configuration, then the option parsing silently
fails and NULL will be passed to curl as a proxy. This forces curl to
fall back to detecting the proxy configuration from the environment,
causing the http.proxy option ignoring.

Fix this issue by checking the proxy option parsing result. If parsing
failed then print an error message and die. Such behaviour allows the
user to quickly figure the proxy misconfiguration and correct it.

Helped-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Sergey Ryazanov <ryazanov.s.a@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
http.c

diff --git a/http.c b/http.c
index 8be75b2..82664dd 100644 (file)
--- a/http.c
+++ b/http.c
@@ -867,6 +867,9 @@ static CURL *get_curl_handle(void)
                        strbuf_release(&url);
                }
 
+               if (!proxy_auth.host)
+                       die("Invalid proxy URL '%s'", curl_http_proxy);
+
                curl_easy_setopt(result, CURLOPT_PROXY, proxy_auth.host);
 #if LIBCURL_VERSION_NUM >= 0x071304
                var_override(&curl_no_proxy, getenv("NO_PROXY"));