Say when --track is useful in the git-checkout docs.
authorFederico Mena Quintero <federico@novell.com>
Tue, 2 Oct 2007 23:32:32 +0000 (18:32 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Oct 2007 00:26:40 +0000 (17:26 -0700)
The documentation used to say what the option does, but it
didn't mention a use case.

Signed-off-by: Federico Mena Quintero <federico@gnu.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-checkout.txt

index 734928b..2e58481 100644 (file)
@@ -50,7 +50,9 @@ OPTIONS
 --track::
        When -b is given and a branch is created off a remote branch,
        set up configuration so that git-pull will automatically
-       retrieve data from the remote branch.  Set the
+       retrieve data from the remote branch.  Use this if you always
+       pull from the same remote branch into the new branch, or if you
+       don't want to use "git pull <repository> <refspec>" explicitly.  Set the
        branch.autosetupmerge configuration variable to true if you
        want git-checkout and git-branch to always behave as if
        '--track' were given.