git-tag(1): add hint about commit messages
authorNico -telmich- Schottelius <nico-linux-git@schottelius.org>
Mon, 30 Mar 2009 11:58:21 +0000 (13:58 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 30 Mar 2009 16:00:04 +0000 (09:00 -0700)
If a tag is not annotated, git tag displays the commit message
instead. Add this hint to the manpage to unhide this secret.

Signed-off-by: Nico Schottelius <nico@ikn.schottelius.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-tag.txt

index 046ab35..1f34948 100644 (file)
@@ -63,6 +63,7 @@ OPTIONS
        are printed when using -l.
        The default is not to print any annotation lines.
        If no number is given to `-n`, only the first line is printed.
+       If the tag is not annotated, the commit message is displayed instead.
 
 -l <pattern>::
        List tags with names that match the given pattern (or all if no pattern is given).