diff: don't retrieve binary blobs for diffstat
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sat, 19 Feb 2011 08:16:32 +0000 (03:16 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 22 Feb 2011 18:58:18 +0000 (10:58 -0800)
We only need the size, which is much cheaper to get,
especially if it is a big binary file.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diff.c

diff --git a/diff.c b/diff.c
index 14a3541..0d2ed00 100644 (file)
--- a/diff.c
+++ b/diff.c
@@ -235,6 +235,15 @@ static int fill_mmfile(mmfile_t *mf, struct diff_filespec *one)
        return 0;
 }
 
+/* like fill_mmfile, but only for size, so we can avoid retrieving blob */
+static unsigned long diff_filespec_size(struct diff_filespec *one)
+{
+       if (!DIFF_FILE_VALID(one))
+               return 0;
+       diff_populate_filespec(one, 1);
+       return one->size;
+}
+
 static int count_trailing_blank(mmfile_t *mf, unsigned ws_rule)
 {
        char *ptr = mf->ptr;
@@ -1813,11 +1822,9 @@ static void builtin_diffstat(const char *name_a, const char *name_b,
        }
 
        if (diff_filespec_is_binary(one) || diff_filespec_is_binary(two)) {
-               if (fill_mmfile(&mf1, one) < 0 || fill_mmfile(&mf2, two) < 0)
-                       die("unable to read files to diff");
                data->is_binary = 1;
-               data->added = mf2.size;
-               data->deleted = mf1.size;
+               data->added = diff_filespec_size(two);
+               data->deleted = diff_filespec_size(one);
        }
 
        else if (complete_rewrite) {