git-prompt.sh: document GIT_PS1_STATESEPARATOR
authorJoe Cridge <joe.cridge@me.com>
Wed, 10 Jun 2015 17:19:24 +0000 (18:19 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 10 Jun 2015 21:53:14 +0000 (14:53 -0700)
The environment variable GIT_PS1_STATESEPARATOR can be used to set the
separator between the branch name and the state symbols in the prompt.

At present the variable is not mentioned in the inline documentation which
makes it difficult for the casual user to identify.

Signed-off-by: Joe Cridge <joe.cridge@me.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
contrib/completion/git-prompt.sh

index fb9296b..be5467b 100644 (file)
 #     git           always compare HEAD to @{upstream}
 #     svn           always compare HEAD to your SVN upstream
 #
+# You can change the separator between the branch name and the above
+# state symbols by setting GIT_PS1_STATESEPARATOR. The default separator
+# is SP.
+#
 # By default, __git_ps1 will compare HEAD to your SVN upstream if it can
 # find one, or @{upstream} otherwise.  Once you have set
 # GIT_PS1_SHOWUPSTREAM, you can override it on a per-repository basis by