t6000lib: re-fix tr portability
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sat, 15 Mar 2008 00:32:33 +0000 (20:32 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 15 Mar 2008 00:53:22 +0000 (17:53 -0700)
It seems that some implementations of tr don't like a
replacement string of '-----...'; they try to find the
double-dash option "---...".

Instead of this pipeline of tr and sed invocations, just use a
single perl invocation.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
t/t6000lib.sh

index b69f7c4..c0baaa5 100755 (executable)
@@ -97,10 +97,13 @@ check_output()
 # from front and back.
 name_from_description()
 {
-        tr "'" '-' |
-               tr '~`!@#$%^&*()_+={}[]|\;:"<>,/? ' \
-                  '------------------------------' |
-               tr -s '-' | tr '[A-Z]' '[a-z]' | sed "s/^-*//;s/-*\$//"
+       perl -pe '
+               s/[^A-Za-z0-9.]/-/g;
+               s/-+/-/g;
+               s/-$//;
+               s/^-//;
+               y/A-Z/a-z/;
+       '
 }