Print RUNTIME_PREFIX warning only when GIT_TRACE is set
authorJohannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Tue, 23 Feb 2010 11:42:56 +0000 (12:42 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 23 Feb 2010 21:20:15 +0000 (13:20 -0800)
When RUNTIME_PREFIX is enabled, the installation prefix is derived by
trying a limited set of known locations where the git executable can
reside. If none of these is found, a warning is emitted.

When git is built in a directory that matches neither of these known names,
the warning would always be emitted when the uninstalled executable is run.
This is a problem on Windows, where gitk picks the uninstalled git when
invoked from the build directory and gets confused by the warning.

Print the warning only when GIT_TRACE is set.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
exec_cmd.c

index 408e4e5..b2c07c7 100644 (file)
@@ -28,7 +28,7 @@ const char *system_path(const char *path)
            !(prefix = strip_path_suffix(argv0_path, BINDIR)) &&
            !(prefix = strip_path_suffix(argv0_path, "git"))) {
                prefix = PREFIX;
-               fprintf(stderr, "RUNTIME_PREFIX requested, "
+               trace_printf("RUNTIME_PREFIX requested, "
                                "but prefix computation failed.  "
                                "Using static fallback '%s'.\n", prefix);
        }