INSTALL: explain how to build documentation
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 18 Jun 2007 08:43:34 +0000 (01:43 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 20 Jun 2007 23:22:09 +0000 (16:22 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 95269cc..63ba148 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -89,10 +89,16 @@ Issues of note:
    will include them.  Note that config.mak is not distributed;
    the name is reserved for local settings.
 
- - To build and install documentation suite, you need to have the
-   asciidoc/xmlto toolchain.  Alternatively, pre-formatted
-   documentation are available in "html" and "man" branches of the git
-   repository itself.  For example, you could:
+ - To build and install documentation suite, you need to have
+   the asciidoc/xmlto toolchain.  Because not many people are
+   inclined to install the tools, the default build target
+   ("make all") does _not_ build them.  The documentation is
+   written for AsciiDoc 7, but "make ASCIIDOC8=YesPlease doc"
+   will let you format with AsciiDoc 8.
+
+   Alternatively, pre-formatted documentation are available in
+   "html" and "man" branches of the git repository itself.  For
+   example, you could:
 
        $ mkdir manual && cd manual
        $ git init