diff options documentation: refer to --diff-filter in --name-status
authorMiklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Tue, 22 Apr 2008 12:23:48 +0000 (14:23 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 23 Apr 2008 04:42:38 +0000 (21:42 -0700)
git diff --name-status outputs letters, but the meaning of those letters
is documented elsewhere. Add a note to make the manpage more intuitive.

Signed-off-by: Miklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/diff-options.txt

index 8d35cbd..60d0e53 100644 (file)
@@ -75,7 +75,8 @@ endif::git-format-patch[]
        Show only names of changed files.
 
 --name-status::
-       Show only names and status of changed files.
+       Show only names and status of changed files. See the description
+       of the `--diff-filter` option on what the status letters mean.
 
 --color::
        Show colored diff.