t7502: tighten loosely written test sequence
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 4 Jun 2008 01:10:08 +0000 (18:10 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 4 Jun 2008 01:13:33 +0000 (18:13 -0700)
We would like to catch breakage at any step in the sequence.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7502-commit.sh

index 385c8f4..a5801df 100755 (executable)
@@ -196,23 +196,24 @@ chmod +x .git/FAKE_EDITOR
 
 test_expect_success 'do not fire editor in the presence of conflicts' '
 
-       git clean
-       echo f>g
-       git add g
-       git commit -myes
-       git branch second
-       echo master>g
-       echo g>h
-       git add g h
-       git commit -mmaster
-       git checkout second
-       echo second>g
-       git add g
-       git commit -msecond
-       git cherry-pick -n master
-       echo "editor not started" > .git/result
-       GIT_EDITOR=`pwd`/.git/FAKE_EDITOR git commit && exit 1  # should fail
-       test "`cat .git/result`" = "editor not started"
+       git clean -f &&
+       echo f >g &&
+       git add g &&
+       git commit -m "add g" &&
+       git branch second &&
+       echo master >g &&
+       echo g >h &&
+       git add g h &&
+       git commit -m "modify g and add h" &&
+       git checkout second &&
+       echo second >g &&
+       git add g &&
+       git commit -m second &&
+       # Must fail due to conflict
+       test_must_fail git cherry-pick -n master &&
+       echo "editor not started" >.git/result &&
+       test_must_fail GIT_EDITOR="$(pwd)/.git/FAKE_EDITOR" git commit &&
+       test "$(cat .git/result)" = "editor not started"
 '
 
 pwd=`pwd`