Improve on the 'invalid object' error message at commit time
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 14 Jul 2009 18:25:17 +0000 (11:25 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 14 Jul 2009 20:50:33 +0000 (13:50 -0700)
Not that anybody should ever get it, but somebody did (probably because
of a flaky filesystem, but whatever).  And each time I see an error
message that I haven't seen before, I decide that next time it will look
better.

So this makes us write more relevant information about exactly which
file ended up having issues with a missing object.  Which will tell
whether it was a tree object, for example, or just a regular file in the
index (and which one).

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
cache-tree.c

index 16a65df..d917437 100644 (file)
@@ -329,7 +329,8 @@ static int update_one(struct cache_tree *it,
                        entlen = pathlen - baselen;
                }
                if (mode != S_IFGITLINK && !missing_ok && !has_sha1_file(sha1))
-                       return error("invalid object %s", sha1_to_hex(sha1));
+                       return error("invalid object %06o %s for '%.*s'",
+                               mode, sha1_to_hex(sha1), entlen+baselen, path);
 
                if (ce->ce_flags & CE_REMOVE)
                        continue; /* entry being removed */