doc: mention 'git show' defaults to HEAD
authorTodd Zullinger <tmz@pobox.com>
Sun, 28 Jan 2018 19:16:07 +0000 (14:16 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 Jan 2018 21:12:18 +0000 (13:12 -0800)
When 'git show' is called without any object it defaults to HEAD.  This
has been true since d4ed9793fd ("Simplify common default options setup
for built-in log family.", 2006-04-16).

The SYNOPSIS suggests that the object argument is required.  Clarify
that it is not required and note the default.

Signed-off-by: Todd Zullinger <tmz@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-show.txt

index 82a4125..e73ef54 100644 (file)
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@ git-show - Show various types of objects
 SYNOPSIS
 --------
 [verse]
 SYNOPSIS
 --------
 [verse]
-'git show' [options] <object>...
+'git show' [options] [<object>...]
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
@@ -35,7 +35,7 @@ This manual page describes only the most frequently used options.
 OPTIONS
 -------
 <object>...::
 OPTIONS
 -------
 <object>...::
-       The names of objects to show.
+       The names of objects to show (defaults to 'HEAD').
        For a more complete list of ways to spell object names, see
        "SPECIFYING REVISIONS" section in linkgit:gitrevisions[7].
 
        For a more complete list of ways to spell object names, see
        "SPECIFYING REVISIONS" section in linkgit:gitrevisions[7].