Make release tarballs friendlier to older tar versions
authorRene Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
Sun, 18 Jun 2006 13:25:33 +0000 (15:25 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 18 Jun 2006 18:29:36 +0000 (11:29 -0700)
git-tar-tree adds an extended pax header to archives if its first
parameter points to a commit.  It confuses older tars and isn't
very useful in the case of git anyway, so stop doing it.

Idea: Junio, implementation: Junio.  I just wrote it up. :-)

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Makefile

index 2a1e639..28517f4 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -667,7 +667,7 @@ git.spec: git.spec.in
 
 GIT_TARNAME=git-$(GIT_VERSION)
 dist: git.spec git-tar-tree
 
 GIT_TARNAME=git-$(GIT_VERSION)
 dist: git.spec git-tar-tree
-       ./git-tar-tree HEAD $(GIT_TARNAME) > $(GIT_TARNAME).tar
+       ./git-tar-tree HEAD^{tree} $(GIT_TARNAME) > $(GIT_TARNAME).tar
        @mkdir -p $(GIT_TARNAME)
        @cp git.spec $(GIT_TARNAME)
        @echo $(GIT_VERSION) > $(GIT_TARNAME)/version
        @mkdir -p $(GIT_TARNAME)
        @cp git.spec $(GIT_TARNAME)
        @echo $(GIT_VERSION) > $(GIT_TARNAME)/version