t0028: fix wrong octal values for BOM in setup
authorKevin Daudt <me@ikke.info>
Mon, 11 Feb 2019 21:38:18 +0000 (22:38 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 11 Feb 2019 22:46:36 +0000 (14:46 -0800)
The setup code uses octal values with printf to generate a BOM for
UTF-16/32 BE/LE. It specifically uses '\777' to emit a 0xff byte. This
relies on the fact that most shells truncate the value above 0o377.

Ash however interprets '\777' as '\77' + a literal '7', resulting in an
invalid BOM.

Fix this by using the proper value of 0xff: '\377'.

Signed-off-by: Kevin Daudt <me@ikke.info>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t0028-working-tree-encoding.sh

index 12b8eb9..58e5b6c 100755 (executable)
@@ -22,12 +22,12 @@ test_expect_success 'setup test files' '
        # BOM tests
        printf "\0a\0b\0c"                         >nobom.utf16be.raw &&
        printf "a\0b\0c\0"                         >nobom.utf16le.raw &&
-       printf "\376\777\0a\0b\0c"                 >bebom.utf16be.raw &&
-       printf "\777\376a\0b\0c\0"                 >lebom.utf16le.raw &&
+       printf "\376\377\0a\0b\0c"                 >bebom.utf16be.raw &&
+       printf "\377\376a\0b\0c\0"                 >lebom.utf16le.raw &&
        printf "\0\0\0a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c"             >nobom.utf32be.raw &&
        printf "a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c\0\0\0"             >nobom.utf32le.raw &&
-       printf "\0\0\376\777\0\0\0a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c" >bebom.utf32be.raw &&
-       printf "\777\376\0\0a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c\0\0\0" >lebom.utf32le.raw &&
+       printf "\0\0\376\377\0\0\0a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c" >bebom.utf32be.raw &&
+       printf "\377\376\0\0a\0\0\0b\0\0\0c\0\0\0" >lebom.utf32le.raw &&
 
        # Add only UTF-16 file, we will add the UTF-32 file later
        cp test.utf16.raw test.utf16 &&