Fix possible Solaris problem in 'checkout_entry()'
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 17 Mar 2008 15:56:27 +0000 (08:56 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 19 Mar 2008 05:18:57 +0000 (22:18 -0700)
Currently when checking out an entry "path", we try to unlink(2) it first
(because there could be stale file), and if there is a directory there,
try to deal with it (typically we run recursive rmdir).  We ignore the
error return from this unlink because there may not even be any file
there.

However if you are root on Solaris, you can unlink(2) a directory
successfully and corrupt your filesystem.

This moves the code around and check the directory first, and then
unlink(2).  Also we check the error code from it.

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
entry.c

diff --git a/entry.c b/entry.c
index 44f4b89..222aaa3 100644 (file)
--- a/entry.c
+++ b/entry.c
@@ -218,7 +218,6 @@ int checkout_entry(struct cache_entry *ce, const struct checkout *state, char *t
                 * to emulate by hand - much easier to let the system
                 * just do the right thing)
                 */
-               unlink(path);
                if (S_ISDIR(st.st_mode)) {
                        /* If it is a gitlink, leave it alone! */
                        if (S_ISGITLINK(ce->ce_mode))
@@ -226,7 +225,8 @@ int checkout_entry(struct cache_entry *ce, const struct checkout *state, char *t
                        if (!state->force)
                                return error("%s is a directory", path);
                        remove_subtree(path);
-               }
+               } else if (unlink(path))
+                       return error("unable to unlink old '%s' (%s)", path, strerror(errno));
        } else if (state->not_new)
                return 0;
        create_directories(path, state);