ci: add optional test variables
authorDerrick Stolee <dstolee@microsoft.com>
Wed, 17 Oct 2018 13:00:34 +0000 (06:00 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 00:21:28 +0000 (09:21 +0900)
The commit-graph and multi-pack-index features introduce optional
data structures that are not required for normal Git operations.
It is important to run the normal test suite without them enabled,
but it is helpful to also run the test suite using them.

Our continuous integration scripts include a second test stage that
runs with optional GIT_TEST_* variables enabled. Add the following
two variables to that stage:

  GIT_TEST_COMMIT_GRAPH
  GIT_TEST_MULTI_PACK_INDEX

This will slow down the operation, as we build a commit-graph file
after every 'git commit' operation and build a multi-pack-index
during every 'git repack' operation. However, it is important that
future changes are compatible with these features.

Signed-off-by: Derrick Stolee <dstolee@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
ci/run-build-and-tests.sh

index 2a5bff4..cda170d 100755 (executable)
@@ -15,6 +15,8 @@ then
        export GIT_TEST_FULL_IN_PACK_ARRAY=true
        export GIT_TEST_OE_SIZE=10
        export GIT_TEST_OE_DELTA_SIZE=5
        export GIT_TEST_FULL_IN_PACK_ARRAY=true
        export GIT_TEST_OE_SIZE=10
        export GIT_TEST_OE_DELTA_SIZE=5
+       export GIT_TEST_COMMIT_GRAPH=1
+       export GIT_TEST_MULTI_PACK_INDEX=1
        make --quiet test
 fi
 
        make --quiet test
 fi