git-help--browse: improve browser support under OS X
authorJay Soffian <jaysoffian@gmail.com>
Thu, 14 Feb 2008 08:36:14 +0000 (03:36 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 16 Feb 2008 08:45:57 +0000 (00:45 -0800)
/usr/bin/open <document> is used under OS X to open a document as if the
user had double-clicked on the file's icon (i.e. HTML files are opened
w/the user's default browser).

Signed-off-by: Jay Soffian <jaysoffian@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Christian Couder <chriscool@tuxfamily.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-help--browse.sh

index 10b0a36..84e37ef 100755 (executable)
@@ -30,7 +30,7 @@ test -f "$html_dir/git.html" || die "No documentation directory found."
 
 valid_tool() {
        case "$1" in
 
 valid_tool() {
        case "$1" in
-               firefox | iceweasel | konqueror | w3m | links | lynx | dillo)
+               firefox | iceweasel | konqueror | w3m | links | lynx | dillo | open)
                        ;; # happy
                *)
                        return 1
                        ;; # happy
                *)
                        return 1
@@ -94,6 +94,10 @@ if test -z "$browser" ; then
     else
        browser_candidates="w3m links lynx"
     fi
     else
        browser_candidates="w3m links lynx"
     fi
+    # SECURITYSESSIONID indicates an OS X GUI login session
+    if test -n "$SECURITYSESSIONID"; then
+       browser_candidates="open $browser_candidates"
+    fi
 
     for i in $browser_candidates; do
        init_browser_path $i
 
     for i in $browser_candidates; do
        init_browser_path $i
@@ -140,7 +144,7 @@ case "$browser" in
                ;;
        esac
        ;;
                ;;
        esac
        ;;
-    w3m|links|lynx)
+    w3m|links|lynx|open)
        eval "$browser_path" $pages
        ;;
     dillo)
        eval "$browser_path" $pages
        ;;
     dillo)