win32: dirent: handle errors
authorErik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com>
Tue, 23 Nov 2010 18:38:27 +0000 (19:38 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 24 Nov 2010 00:06:47 +0000 (16:06 -0800)
Previously all error conditions were ignored. Be nice, and set errno
when we should.

Signed-off-by: Erik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
compat/mingw.c
compat/msvc.c

index 29f4036..9f8f37f 100644 (file)
@@ -1582,7 +1582,7 @@ struct dirent *mingw_readdir(DIR *dir)
        HANDLE handle;
        struct mingw_DIR *mdir = (struct mingw_DIR*)dir;
 
-       if (!dir->dd_handle) {
+       if (!dir || !dir->dd_handle) {
                errno = EBADF; /* No set_errno for mingw */
                return NULL;
        }
index 88c6093..199eb22 100644 (file)
@@ -5,8 +5,29 @@
 
 DIR *opendir(const char *name)
 {
-       int len = strlen(name);
+       DWORD attrs = GetFileAttributes(name);
+       int len;
        DIR *p;
+
+       /* check for valid path */
+       if (attrs == INVALID_FILE_ATTRIBUTES) {
+               errno = ENOENT;
+               return NULL;
+       }
+
+       /* check if it's a directory */
+       if (!(attrs & FILE_ATTRIBUTE_DIRECTORY)) {
+               errno = ENOTDIR;
+               return NULL;
+       }
+
+       /* check that the pattern won't be too long for FindFirstFileA */
+       len = strlen(name);
+       if (len + 2 >= MAX_PATH) {
+               errno = ENAMETOOLONG;
+               return NULL;
+       }
+
        p = malloc(sizeof(DIR) + len + 2);
        if (!p)
                return NULL;
@@ -21,6 +42,11 @@ DIR *opendir(const char *name)
 }
 int closedir(DIR *dir)
 {
+       if (!dir) {
+               errno = EBADF;
+               return -1;
+       }
+
        if (dir->dd_handle != (long)INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE)
                FindClose((HANDLE)dir->dd_handle);
        free(dir);