.mailmap: Map email addresses to names
authorStefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:21:21 +0000 (21:21 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:53:02 +0000 (12:53 -0700)
People change email addresses quite often and sometimes forget to
add their entry to the mailmap file.  I have contacted lots of
people, whose name occurs multiple times in the short log having
different email addresses. The entries in the mailmap of this patch
are either confirmed by them or are trivial.  Trivial means
different capitalisation of the domain (@MIT.EDU and @mit.edu) or
the domain was localhost, (none) or @local.

Additionally to adding (name, email) mappings to the .mailmap file,
it has also been sorted ("LC_ALL=C /usr/bin/sort", byte-value sort).

While the most changes happen at the email addresses, we also have a
name change in here. Karl Hasselström is now known as Karl Wiberg
due to marriage. Congratulations!

To find out whom to contact I used the following small
script:

    #!/bin/bash
    git shortlog -sne |awk '{ NF--; $1=""; print }' |sort |uniq -d > mailmapdoubles
    while read line ; do
        # remove leading whitespace
        trimmed=$(echo $line | sed -e 's/^ *//g' -e 's/ *$//g')
        echo "git shortlog -sne | grep \""$trimmed"\""
    done < mailmapdoubles > mailmapdoubles2
    sh mailmapdoubles2
    rm mailmapdoubles
    rm mailmapdoubles2

Also interesting for similar tasks are these snippets:

    # Finding out duplicates by comparing email addresses:
    git shortlog -sne |awk '{ print $NF }' |sort |uniq -d

    # Finding out duplicates by comparing names:
    git shortlog -sne |awk '{ NF--; $1=""; print }' |sort |uniq -d

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
.mailmap

index 345cce6..22d3d70 100644 (file)
--- a/.mailmap
+++ b/.mailmap
 # same person appearing not to be so.
 #
 
 # same person appearing not to be so.
 #
 
+<nico@fluxnic.net> <nico@cam.org>
+Alejandro R. Sedeño <asedeno@MIT.EDU> <asedeno@mit.edu>
 Alex Bennée <kernel-hacker@bennee.com>
 Alex Bennée <kernel-hacker@bennee.com>
+Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com> <fork0@t-online.de>
+Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com> <raa@limbo.localdomain>
+Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com> <raa@steel.home>
+Alex Vandiver <alex@chmrr.net> <alexmv@MIT.EDU>
 Alexander Gavrilov <angavrilov@gmail.com>
 Alexander Gavrilov <angavrilov@gmail.com>
+Alexey Shumkin <alex.crezoff@gmail.com> <zapped@mail.ru>
+Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@ksplice.com>
+Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@mit.edu>
 Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@gmail.com>
 Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@gmail.com>
+Bernt Hansen <bernt@norang.ca> <bernt@alumni.uwaterloo.ca>
+Brandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com> <casey@nrlssc.navy.mil>
 Brian M. Carlson <sandals@crustytoothpaste.ath.cx>
 Brian M. Carlson <sandals@crustytoothpaste.ath.cx>
+Bryan Larsen <bryan@larsen.st> <bryan.larsen@gmail.com>
+Bryan Larsen <bryan@larsen.st> <bryanlarsen@yahoo.com>
 Cheng Renquan <crquan@gmail.com>
 Chris Shoemaker <c.shoemaker@cox.net>
 Dan Johnson <computerdruid@gmail.com>
 Dana L. How <danahow@gmail.com>
 Dana L. How <how@deathvalley.cswitch.com>
 Daniel Barkalow <barkalow@iabervon.org>
 Cheng Renquan <crquan@gmail.com>
 Chris Shoemaker <c.shoemaker@cox.net>
 Dan Johnson <computerdruid@gmail.com>
 Dana L. How <danahow@gmail.com>
 Dana L. How <how@deathvalley.cswitch.com>
 Daniel Barkalow <barkalow@iabervon.org>
+David Brown <git@davidb.org> <davidb@quicinc.com>
 David D. Kilzer <ddkilzer@kilzer.net>
 David Kågedal <davidk@lysator.liu.se>
 David D. Kilzer <ddkilzer@kilzer.net>
 David Kågedal <davidk@lysator.liu.se>
+David Reiss <dreiss@facebook.com> <dreiss@dreiss-vmware.(none)>
 David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
 Deskin Miller <deskinm@umich.edu>
 Dirk Süsserott <newsletter@dirk.my1.cc>
 David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
 Deskin Miller <deskinm@umich.edu>
 Dirk Süsserott <newsletter@dirk.my1.cc>
+Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com> <ebb9@byu.net>
+Eric Hanchrow <eric.hanchrow@gmail.com> <offby1@blarg.net>
 Eric S. Raymond <esr@thyrsus.com>
 Erik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com> <kusmabite@googlemail.com>
 Eric S. Raymond <esr@thyrsus.com>
 Erik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com> <kusmabite@googlemail.com>
+Eyvind Bernhardsen <eyvind.bernhardsen@gmail.com> <eyvind-git@orakel.ntnu.no>
+Florian Achleitner <florian.achleitner.2.6.31@gmail.com> <florian.achleitner2.6.31@gmail.com>
+Franck Bui-Huu <vagabon.xyz@gmail.com> <fbuihuu@gmail.com>
+Frank Lichtenheld <frank@lichtenheld.de> <djpig@debian.org>
+Frank Lichtenheld <frank@lichtenheld.de> <flichtenheld@astaro.com>
 Fredrik Kuivinen <freku045@student.liu.se>
 Frédéric Heitzmann <frederic.heitzmann@gmail.com>
 H. Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl> H.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
 Fredrik Kuivinen <freku045@student.liu.se>
 Frédéric Heitzmann <frederic.heitzmann@gmail.com>
 H. Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl> H.Merijn Brand <h.m.brand@xs4all.nl>
-H. Peter Anvin <hpa@bonde.sc.orionmulti.com>
-H. Peter Anvin <hpa@tazenda.sc.orionmulti.com>
-H. Peter Anvin <hpa@trantor.hos.anvin.org>
+H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> <hpa@bonde.sc.orionmulti.com>
+H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> <hpa@smyrno.hos.anvin.org>
+H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> <hpa@tazenda.sc.orionmulti.com>
+H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> <hpa@trantor.hos.anvin.org>
+Han-Wen Nienhuys <hanwen@google.com> Han-Wen Nienhuys <hanwen@xs4all.nl>
 Horst H. von Brand <vonbrand@inf.utfsm.cl>
 Horst H. von Brand <vonbrand@inf.utfsm.cl>
-İsmail Dönmez <ismail@pardus.org.tr>
+J. Bruce Fields <bfields@citi.umich.edu> <bfields@fieldses.org>
+J. Bruce Fields <bfields@citi.umich.edu> <bfields@pig.linuxdev.us.dell.com>
+J. Bruce Fields <bfields@citi.umich.edu> <bfields@puzzle.fieldses.org>
 Jakub Narębski <jnareb@gmail.com>
 Jakub Narębski <jnareb@gmail.com>
-Jay Soffian <jaysoffian+git@gmail.com>
+Jason Riedy <ejr@eecs.berkeley.edu> <ejr@EECS.Berkeley.EDU>
+Jason Riedy <ejr@eecs.berkeley.edu> <ejr@cs.berkeley.edu>
+Jay Soffian <jaysoffian@gmail.com> <jaysoffian+git@gmail.com>
 Jeff King <peff@peff.net> <peff@github.com>
 Jeff King <peff@peff.net> <peff@github.com>
+Jeff Muizelaar <jmuizelaar@mozilla.com> <jeff@infidigm.net>
 Joachim Berdal Haga <cjhaga@fys.uio.no>
 Joachim Berdal Haga <cjhaga@fys.uio.no>
-Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <johannes.sixt@telecom.at>
-Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <j.sixt@viscovery.net>
+Johannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de> <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
 Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <J.Sixt@eudaptics.com>
 Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <J.Sixt@eudaptics.com>
+Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <j.sixt@viscovery.net>
+Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org> <johannes.sixt@telecom.at>
 Jon Loeliger <jdl@freescale.com>
 Jon Loeliger <jdl@freescale.com>
-Jon Seymour <jon@blackcubes.dyndns.org>
-Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@uchicago.edu>
+Jon Seymour <jon.seymour@gmail.com> <jon@blackcubes.dyndns.org>
+Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com> <jrnieder@uchicago.edu>
+Jonathan del Strother <jon.delStrother@bestbefore.tv> <maillist@steelskies.com>
+Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> <josh@freedesktop.org>
+Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> <josht@us.ibm.com>
+Julian Phillips <julian@quantumfyre.co.uk> <jp3@quantumfyre.co.uk>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <gitster@pobox.com>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <gitster@pobox.com>
-Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@pobox.com>
-Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@twinsun.com>
-Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junkio@twinsun.com>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@hera.kernel.org>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@kernel.org>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@hera.kernel.org>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@kernel.org>
+Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@pobox.com>
+Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junio@twinsun.com>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junkio@cox.net>
 Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junkio@cox.net>
-Karl Hasselström <kha@treskal.com>
-Kevin Leung <kevinlsk@gmail.com>
+Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> <junkio@twinsun.com>
+Karl Wiberg <kha@treskal.com> Karl Hasselström <kha@treskal.com>
+Karl Wiberg <kha@treskal.com> Karl Hasselström <kha@yoghurt.hemma.treskal.com>
+Karsten Blees <blees@dcon.de> <karsten.blees@dcon.de>
+Karsten Blees <blees@dcon.de> <karsten.blees@gmail.com>
+Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org> <kay.sievers@suse.de>
+Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org> <kay@mam.(none)>
+Keith Cascio <keith@CS.UCLA.EDU> <keith@cs.ucla.edu>
 Kent Engstrom <kent@lysator.liu.se>
 Kent Engstrom <kent@lysator.liu.se>
+Kevin Leung <kevinlsk@gmail.com>
+Kirill Smelkov <kirr@navytux.spb.ru> <kirr@landau.phys.spbu.ru>
+Kirill Smelkov <kirr@navytux.spb.ru> <kirr@mns.spb.ru>
+Knut Franke <Knut.Franke@gmx.de> <k.franke@science-computing.de>
 Lars Doelle <lars.doelle@on-line ! de>
 Lars Doelle <lars.doelle@on-line.de>
 Li Hong <leehong@pku.edu.cn>
 Lars Doelle <lars.doelle@on-line ! de>
 Lars Doelle <lars.doelle@on-line.de>
 Li Hong <leehong@pku.edu.cn>
-Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
-Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@osdl.org>
-Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@evo.osdl.org>
 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@evo.osdl.org>
-Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>
+Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
+Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@osdl.org>
 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org.(none)>
 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org.(none)>
-Lukas Sandström <lukass@etek.chalmers.se>
+Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>
+Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
+Lukas Sandström <luksan@gmail.com> <lukass@etek.chalmers.se>
+Marc Khouzam <marc.khouzam@ericsson.com> <marc.khouzam@gmail.com>
 Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
 Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
+Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com> <mcostalba@yahoo.it>
+Mark Levedahl <mdl123@verizon.net> <mlevedahl@gmail.com>
 Mark Rada <marada@uwaterloo.ca>
 Martin Langhoff <martin@laptop.org> <martin@catalyst.net.nz>
 Martin von Zweigbergk <martinvonz@gmail.com> <martin.von.zweigbergk@gmail.com>
 Mark Rada <marada@uwaterloo.ca>
 Martin Langhoff <martin@laptop.org> <martin@catalyst.net.nz>
 Martin von Zweigbergk <martinvonz@gmail.com> <martin.von.zweigbergk@gmail.com>
+Matt Draisey <matt@draisey.ca> <mattdraisey@sympatico.ca>
+Matt Kraai <kraai@ftbfs.org> <matt.kraai@amo.abbott.com>
+Matthias Kestenholz <matthias@spinlock.ch> <mk@spinlock.ch>
+Matthias Urlichs <matthias@urlichs.de> <smurf@kiste.(none)>
+Matthias Urlichs <matthias@urlichs.de> <smurf@smurf.noris.de>
 Michael Coleman <tutufan@gmail.com>
 Michael J Gruber <git@drmicha.warpmail.net> <michaeljgruber+gmane@fastmail.fm>
 Michael W. Olson <mwolson@gnu.org>
 Michael Coleman <tutufan@gmail.com>
 Michael J Gruber <git@drmicha.warpmail.net> <michaeljgruber+gmane@fastmail.fm>
 Michael W. Olson <mwolson@gnu.org>
+Michael Witten <mfwitten@gmail.com> <mfwitten@MIT.EDU>
+Michael Witten <mfwitten@gmail.com> <mfwitten@mit.edu>
 Michele Ballabio <barra_cuda@katamail.com>
 Michele Ballabio <barra_cuda@katamail.com>
+Miklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org> <vmiklos@suse.cz>
+Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
+Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> <namhyung@kernel.org>
 Nanako Shiraishi <nanako3@bluebottle.com>
 Nanako Shiraishi <nanako3@lavabit.com>
 Nanako Shiraishi <nanako3@bluebottle.com>
 Nanako Shiraishi <nanako3@lavabit.com>
+Nelson Elhage <nelhage@mit.edu> <nelhage@MIT.EDU>
+Nelson Elhage <nelhage@mit.edu> <nelhage@ksplice.com>
 Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
 Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
-<nico@fluxnic.net> <nico@cam.org>
-Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@svarten.intern.softwolves.pp.se>
+Nicolas Morey-Chaisemartin <devel-git@morey-chaisemartin.com> <nicolas.morey@free.fr>
+Nicolas Morey-Chaisemartin <devel-git@morey-chaisemartin.com> <nmorey@kalray.eu>
+Paolo Bonzini <bonzini@gnu.org> <paolo.bonzini@lu.unisi.ch>
+Pascal Obry <pascal@obry.net> <pascal.obry@gmail.com>
+Pascal Obry <pascal@obry.net> <pascal.obry@wanadoo.fr>
+Pat Notz <patnotz@gmail.com> <pknotz@sandia.gov>
+Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> <paulus@dorrigo.(none)>
+Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> <paulus@pogo.(none)>
 Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@softwolves.pp.se>
 Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@softwolves.pp.se>
+Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@svarten.intern.softwolves.pp.se>
 Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz> <pasky@suse.cz>
 Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz> <pasky@suse.cz>
+Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz> <xpasky@machine>
+Phil Hord <hordp@cisco.com> <phil.hord@gmail.com>
+Philip Jägenstedt <philip@foolip.org> <philip.jagenstedt@gmail.com>
+Philipp A. Hartmann <pah@qo.cx> <ph@sorgh.de>
 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
 Ralf Thielow <ralf.thielow@gmail.com> <ralf.thielow@googlemail.com>
 Ramsay Allan Jones <ramsay@ramsay1.demon.co.uk>
 René Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
 Robert Fitzsimons <robfitz@273k.net>
 Robert Zeh <robert.a.zeh@gmail.com>
 Philippe Bruhat <book@cpan.org>
 Ralf Thielow <ralf.thielow@gmail.com> <ralf.thielow@googlemail.com>
 Ramsay Allan Jones <ramsay@ramsay1.demon.co.uk>
 René Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
 Robert Fitzsimons <robfitz@273k.net>
 Robert Zeh <robert.a.zeh@gmail.com>
-Sam Vilain <sam@vilain.net>
-Santi Béjar <sbejar@gmail.com>
+Robin Rosenberg <robin.rosenberg@dewire.com> <robin.rosenberg.lists@dewire.com>
+Salikh Zakirov <salikh.zakirov@gmail.com> <Salikh.Zakirov@Intel.com>
+Sam Vilain <sam@vilain.net> <sam.vilain@catalyst.net.nz>
+Santi Béjar <santi@agolina.net> <sbejar@gmail.com>
 Sean Estabrooks <seanlkml@sympatico.ca>
 Sean Estabrooks <seanlkml@sympatico.ca>
+Sebastian Schuberth <sschuberth@gmail.com> <sschuberth@visageimaging.com>
 Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
 Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
-Steven Grimm <koreth@midwinter.com>
+Stefan Sperling <stsp@elego.de> <stsp@stsp.name>
+Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com> <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
+Steven Grimm <koreth@midwinter.com> <sgrimm@sgrimm-mbp.local>
+Sven Verdoolaege <skimo@kotnet.org> <Sven.Verdoolaege@cs.kuleuven.ac.be>
+Sven Verdoolaege <skimo@kotnet.org> <skimo@liacs.nl>
 Tay Ray Chuan <rctay89@gmail.com>
 Tay Ray Chuan <rctay89@gmail.com>
+Ted Percival <ted@midg3t.net> <ted.percival@quest.com>
 Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
 Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
+Thomas Ackermann <th.acker@arcor.de> <th.acker66@arcor.de>
 Thomas Rast <trast@inf.ethz.ch> <trast@student.ethz.ch>
 Thomas Rast <trast@inf.ethz.ch> <trast@student.ethz.ch>
+Timo Hirvonen <tihirvon@gmail.com> <tihirvon@ee.oulu.fi>
+Toby Allsopp <Toby.Allsopp@navman.co.nz> <toby.allsopp@navman.co.nz>
+Tom Grennan <tmgrennan@gmail.com> <tgrennan@redback.com>
 Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
 Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
-Uwe Kleine-König <Uwe_Zeisberger@digi.com>
+Trent Piepho <tpiepho@gmail.com> <tpiepho@freescale.com>
+Trent Piepho <tpiepho@gmail.com> <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
 Uwe Kleine-König <Uwe.Kleine-Koenig@digi.com>
 Uwe Kleine-König <Uwe.Kleine-Koenig@digi.com>
+Uwe Kleine-König <Uwe_Zeisberger@digi.com>
 Uwe Kleine-König <ukleinek@informatik.uni-freiburg.de>
 Uwe Kleine-König <uzeisberger@io.fsforth.de>
 Uwe Kleine-König <zeisberg@informatik.uni-freiburg.de>
 Ville Skyttä <scop@xemacs.org>
 Vitaly "_Vi" Shukela <public_vi@tut.by>
 Uwe Kleine-König <ukleinek@informatik.uni-freiburg.de>
 Uwe Kleine-König <uzeisberger@io.fsforth.de>
 Uwe Kleine-König <zeisberg@informatik.uni-freiburg.de>
 Ville Skyttä <scop@xemacs.org>
 Vitaly "_Vi" Shukela <public_vi@tut.by>
+W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us> <wking@drexel.edu>
 William Pursell <bill.pursell@gmail.com>
 YOSHIFUJI Hideaki <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>
 anonymous <linux@horizon.com>
 anonymous <linux@horizon.net>
 William Pursell <bill.pursell@gmail.com>
 YOSHIFUJI Hideaki <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>
 anonymous <linux@horizon.com>
 anonymous <linux@horizon.net>
+İsmail Dönmez <ismail@pardus.org.tr>