config.txt: document the semantics of hideRefs with namespaces
authorLukas Fleischer <lfleischer@lfos.de>
Tue, 3 Nov 2015 07:58:14 +0000 (08:58 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 5 Nov 2015 19:25:00 +0000 (11:25 -0800)
Right now, there is no clear definition of how transfer.hideRefs should
behave when a namespace is set. Explain that hideRefs prefixes match
stripped names in that case. This is how hideRefs patterns are currently
handled in receive-pack.

Signed-off-by: Lukas Fleischer <lfleischer@lfos.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt

index 391a0c3..993e3a9 100644 (file)
@@ -2673,6 +2673,14 @@ You may also include a `!` in front of the ref name to negate the entry,
 explicitly exposing it, even if an earlier entry marked it as hidden.
 If you have multiple hideRefs values, later entries override earlier ones
 (and entries in more-specific config files override less-specific ones).
++
+If a namespace is in use, the namespace prefix is stripped from each
+reference before it is matched against `transfer.hiderefs` patterns.
+For example, if `refs/heads/master` is specified in `transfer.hideRefs` and
+the current namespace is `foo`, then `refs/namespaces/foo/refs/heads/master`
+is omitted from the advertisements but `refs/heads/master` and
+`refs/namespaces/bar/refs/heads/master` are still advertised as so-called
+"have" lines.
 
 transfer.unpackLimit::
        When `fetch.unpackLimit` or `receive.unpackLimit` are