git --bare cmd: do not unconditionally nuke GIT_DIR
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 28 Aug 2007 05:41:23 +0000 (22:41 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 28 Aug 2007 05:44:41 +0000 (22:44 -0700)
"GIT_DIR=some.where git --bare cmd" and worse yet
"git --git-dir=some.where --bare cmd" were very confusing.  They
both ignored git-dir specified, and instead made $cwd as GIT_DIR.

This changes --bare not to override existing GIT_DIR.

This has been like this for a long time.  Let's hope nobody sane
relied on this insane behaviour.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt
git.c

index 3b0d530..75b3e1b 100644 (file)
@@ -120,7 +120,10 @@ OPTIONS
        variable.
 
 --bare::
-       Same as --git-dir=`pwd`.
+       Treat the repository as a bare repository.  If GIT_DIR
+       environment is not set, it is set to the current working
+       directory.
+
 
 FURTHER DOCUMENTATION
 ---------------------
diff --git a/git.c b/git.c
index b6e292e..fd3d83c 100644 (file)
--- a/git.c
+++ b/git.c
@@ -94,7 +94,7 @@ static int handle_options(const char*** argv, int* argc, int* envchanged)
                } else if (!strcmp(cmd, "--bare")) {
                        static char git_dir[PATH_MAX+1];
                        is_bare_repository_cfg = 1;
-                       setenv(GIT_DIR_ENVIRONMENT, getcwd(git_dir, sizeof(git_dir)), 1);
+                       setenv(GIT_DIR_ENVIRONMENT, getcwd(git_dir, sizeof(git_dir)), 0);
                        if (envchanged)
                                *envchanged = 1;
                } else {