test patch hunk editing with "commit -p -m"
authorBenoit Pierre <benoit.pierre@gmail.com>
Tue, 18 Mar 2014 10:00:52 +0000 (11:00 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 18 Mar 2014 18:24:39 +0000 (11:24 -0700)
Add (failing) tests: with commit changing the environment to let hooks
know that no editor will be used (by setting GIT_EDITOR to ":"), the
"edit hunk" functionality does not work (no editor is launched and the
whole hunk is committed).

Signed-off-by: Benoit Pierre <benoit.pierre@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7514-commit-patch.sh [new file with mode: 0755]

diff --git a/t/t7514-commit-patch.sh b/t/t7514-commit-patch.sh
new file mode 100755 (executable)
index 0000000..41dd37a
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,34 @@
+#!/bin/sh
+
+test_description='hunk edit with "commit -p -m"'
+. ./test-lib.sh
+
+if ! test_have_prereq PERL
+then
+       skip_all="skipping '$test_description' tests, perl not available"
+       test_done
+fi
+
+test_expect_success 'setup (initial)' '
+       echo line1 >file &&
+       git add file &&
+       git commit -m commit1
+'
+
+test_expect_failure 'edit hunk "commit -p -m message"' '
+       test_when_finished "rm -f editor_was_started" &&
+       rm -f editor_was_started &&
+       echo more >>file &&
+       echo e | env GIT_EDITOR=": >editor_was_started" git commit -p -m commit2 file &&
+       test -r editor_was_started
+'
+
+test_expect_failure 'edit hunk "commit --dry-run -p -m message"' '
+       test_when_finished "rm -f editor_was_started" &&
+       rm -f editor_was_started &&
+       echo more >>file &&
+       echo e | env GIT_EDITOR=": >editor_was_started" git commit -p -m commit3 file &&
+       test -r editor_was_started
+'
+
+test_done