rerere.autoupdate: change the message when autoupdate is in effect
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 17 Jul 2008 03:25:18 +0000 (20:25 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 17 Jul 2008 06:32:33 +0000 (23:32 -0700)
This changes the message rerere issues after reusing previous conflict
resolution from "Resolved" to "Staged" when autoupdate option is in
effect.

It is envisioned that in practice, some auto resolitions are trickier and
iffier than others, and we would want to add a feature to mark individual
resolutions as "this is ok to autoupdate" or "do not autoupdate the result
using this resolution even when rerere.autoupdate is in effect" in the
future.  When that happens, these messages will make the distinction
clearer.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
rerere.c

index 1258921..0456aa6 100644 (file)
--- a/rerere.c
+++ b/rerere.c
@@ -278,10 +278,13 @@ static int do_plain_rerere(struct path_list *rr, int fd)
 
                if (has_resolution(name)) {
                        if (!merge(name, path)) {
-                               fprintf(stderr, "Resolved '%s' using "
-                                               "previous resolution.\n", path);
                                if (rerere_autoupdate)
                                        path_list_insert(path, &update);
+                               fprintf(stderr,
+                                       "%s '%s' using previous resolution.\n",
+                                       rerere_autoupdate
+                                       ? "Staged" : "Resolved",
+                                       path);
                                goto mark_resolved;
                        }
                }