t5310: correctly remove bitmaps for jgit test
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 15 Mar 2019 06:22:44 +0000 (02:22 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 18 Mar 2019 05:10:11 +0000 (14:10 +0900)
We use "jgit gc" to generate a pack bitmap file, and then make sure our
implementation can read it. To prepare the repo before running jgit, we
try to "rm -f" any existing bitmap files. But we got the path wrong;
we're in a bare repo, so looking in ".git/" finds nothing. Our "rm"
doesn't complain because of the "-f", and when we run "rev-list" there
are two bitmap files (ours and jgit's).

Our reader implementation will ignore one of the bitmap files, but it's
likely non-deterministic which one we will use. We'd prefer the one with
the more recent timestamp (just because of the way the packed_git list
is sorted), but in most test runs they'd have identical timestamps.

So this was probably actually testing something useful about 50% of the
time, and other half just testing that we could read our own bitmaps
(which is covered elsewhere).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t5310-pack-bitmaps.sh

index 82d7f7f..44a0388 100755 (executable)
@@ -269,7 +269,7 @@ test_expect_success JGIT 'we can read jgit bitmaps' '
        git clone --bare . compat-jgit.git &&
        (
                cd compat-jgit.git &&
        git clone --bare . compat-jgit.git &&
        (
                cd compat-jgit.git &&
-               rm -f .git/objects/pack/*.bitmap &&
+               rm -f objects/pack/*.bitmap &&
                jgit gc &&
                git rev-list --test-bitmap HEAD
        )
                jgit gc &&
                git rev-list --test-bitmap HEAD
        )