Deprecate git-resolve.sh
authorPetr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
Sat, 23 Sep 2006 22:25:19 +0000 (00:25 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 24 Sep 2006 06:52:53 +0000 (23:52 -0700)
Seriously, is anyone still using this thing? It's collecting dust and
blocking the name for something potentially useful like a tool for
user-friendly marking of resolved conflicts or resolving index conflicts.

We've loved you when Git was young, now thank you and please go away. ;-)

This makes git-resolve.sh print a big deprecation warning and sleep a bit
for extra annoyance. It should be removed completely after the next release.

Signed-off-by: Petr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-resolve.sh

index a7bc680..729ec65 100755 (executable)
@@ -5,6 +5,10 @@
 # Resolve two trees.
 #
 
+echo 'WARNING: This command is DEPRECATED and will be removed very soon.' >&2
+echo 'WARNING: Please use git-merge or git-pull instead.' >&2
+sleep 2
+
 USAGE='<head> <remote> <merge-message>'
 . git-sh-setup