git-compat-util.h: auto-adjust to compiler support of FLEX_ARRAY a bit better
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 20 Nov 2007 20:08:06 +0000 (12:08 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 20 Nov 2007 23:03:56 +0000 (15:03 -0800)
When declaring a structure with a flexible array member, instead
of defaulting to the c99 syntax for non-gnu compilers (which
burned people with older compilers), default to the traditional
and more portable "member[1]; /* more */" syntax.

At the same time, other c99 compilers should be able to take
advantage of the modern syntax to flexible array members without
being gcc.  Check __STDC_VERSION__ for that.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-compat-util.h

index 276a437..86c8962 100644 (file)
@@ -4,10 +4,24 @@
 #define _FILE_OFFSET_BITS 64
 
 #ifndef FLEX_ARRAY
-#if defined(__GNUC__) && (__GNUC__ < 3)
-#define FLEX_ARRAY 0
-#else
-#define FLEX_ARRAY /* empty */
+/*
+ * See if our compiler is known to support flexible array members.
+ */
+#if defined(__STDC_VERSION__) && (__STDC_VERSION__ >= 199901L)
+# define FLEX_ARRAY /* empty */
+#elif defined(__GNUC__)
+# if (__GNUC__ >= 3)
+#  define FLEX_ARRAY /* empty */
+# else
+#  define FLEX_ARRAY 0 /* older GNU extension */
+# endif
+#endif
+
+/*
+ * Otherwise, default to safer but a bit wasteful traditional style
+ */
+#ifndef FLEX_ARRAY
+# define FLEX_ARRAY 1
 #endif
 #endif