pull: do not clobber untracked files on initial pull
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 25 Mar 2011 18:13:31 +0000 (14:13 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 3 Apr 2011 19:35:39 +0000 (12:35 -0700)
For a pull into an unborn branch, we do not use "git merge"
at all. Instead, we call read-tree directly. However, we
used the --reset parameter instead of "-m", which turns off
the safety features.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-pull.sh
t/t5520-pull.sh

index f6b7b84..c98c0fc 100755 (executable)
@@ -272,7 +272,7 @@ esac
 if test -z "$orig_head"
 then
        git update-ref -m "initial pull" HEAD $merge_head "$curr_head" &&
-       git read-tree --reset -u HEAD || exit 1
+       git read-tree -m -u HEAD || exit 1
        exit
 fi
 
index 0470a81..0e5eb67 100755 (executable)
@@ -46,6 +46,17 @@ test_expect_success 'pulling into void using master:master' '
        test_cmp file cloned-uho/file
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'pulling into void does not overwrite untracked files' '
+       git init cloned-untracked &&
+       (
+               cd cloned-untracked &&
+               echo untracked >file &&
+               test_must_fail git pull .. master &&
+               echo untracked >expect &&
+               test_cmp expect file
+       )
+'
+
 test_expect_success 'test . as a remote' '
 
        git branch copy master &&