Fix machine-parseability of 'git log --source'
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 15 Nov 2008 18:02:01 +0000 (10:02 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 16 Nov 2008 08:24:41 +0000 (00:24 -0800)
The space between the commit and the source attribute is not easily
machine-parseable: if we combine --source with --parents and give a SHA1
as a starting point, it's unnecessarily hard to see where the list of
parents ends and the source decoration begins.

Example:
git show --parents --source $(git rev-list HEAD)

which is admittedly contrived, but can easily happen in scripting.

So use a <tab> instead of a space as the source separator.

The other decorations didn't have this issue, because they were surrounded
by parenthesis, so it's obvious that they aren't parent SHA1's.

It so happens that _visually_ this makes no difference for "git log
--source", since "commit <40-char SHA1>" is 47 characters, so both a space
and a <tab> will end up showing as a single commit. Of course, with
'--pretty=oneline' or '--parents' or '--abbrev-commit' you'll see the
difference.

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
log-tree.c

index 5444f08..194ddb1 100644 (file)
@@ -58,7 +58,7 @@ void show_decorations(struct rev_info *opt, struct commit *commit)
        struct name_decoration *decoration;
 
        if (opt->show_source && commit->util)
-               printf(" %s", (char *) commit->util);
+               printf("\t%s", (char *) commit->util);
        if (!opt->show_decorations)
                return;
        decoration = lookup_decoration(&name_decoration, &commit->object);