t/3512: demonstrate unrelated submodule/file conflict as cherry-pick failure
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Sat, 11 Nov 2017 00:04:43 +0000 (16:04 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 12 Nov 2017 05:47:45 +0000 (14:47 +0900)
Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t3512-cherry-pick-submodule.sh

index 6863b7b..1b1e311 100755 (executable)
@@ -10,4 +10,40 @@ KNOWN_FAILURE_NOFF_MERGE_DOESNT_CREATE_EMPTY_SUBMODULE_DIR=1
 KNOWN_FAILURE_NOFF_MERGE_ATTEMPTS_TO_MERGE_REMOVED_SUBMODULE_FILES=1
 test_submodule_switch "git cherry-pick"
 
+test_expect_failure 'unrelated submodule/file conflict is ignored' '
+       test_create_repo sub &&
+
+       touch sub/file &&
+       git -C sub add file &&
+       git -C sub commit -m "add a file in a submodule" &&
+
+       test_create_repo a_repo &&
+       (
+               cd a_repo &&
+               >a_file &&
+               git add a_file &&
+               git commit -m "add a file" &&
+
+               git branch test &&
+               git checkout test &&
+
+               mkdir sub &&
+               >sub/content &&
+               git add sub/content &&
+               git commit -m "add a regular folder with name sub" &&
+
+               echo "123" >a_file &&
+               git add a_file &&
+               git commit -m "modify a file" &&
+
+               git checkout master &&
+
+               git submodule add ../sub sub &&
+               git submodule update sub &&
+               git commit -m "add a submodule info folder with name sub" &&
+
+               git cherry-pick test
+       )
+'
+
 test_done