ls-remote doc: rewrite <repository> paragraph
authorRamkumar Ramachandra <artagnon@gmail.com>
Sat, 22 Jun 2013 07:58:16 +0000 (13:28 +0530)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 23 Jun 2013 07:33:58 +0000 (00:33 -0700)
Replace the <repository> paragraph containing specific references to
$GIT_DIR/branches and "." with a generic urls-or-remotes paragraph
referencing the relevant sections in the git-fetch(1) manpage.

Signed-off-by: Ramkumar Ramachandra <artagnon@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-ls-remote.txt

index cce4f93..283fc0c 100644 (file)
@@ -48,9 +48,9 @@ OPTIONS
        exit without talking to the remote.
 
 <repository>::
-       Location of the repository.  The shorthand defined in
-       $GIT_DIR/branches/ can be used. Use "." (dot) to list references in
-       the local repository.
+       The "remote" repository to query.  This parameter can be
+       either a URL or the name of a remote (see the GIT URLS and
+       REMOTES sections of linkgit:git-fetch[1]).
 
 <refs>...::
        When unspecified, all references, after filtering done