document "intent to add" option to git-add
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 21 Oct 2008 00:36:25 +0000 (20:36 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 21 Oct 2008 02:34:56 +0000 (19:34 -0700)
This was added by 3942581 but never documented.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-add.txt

index 2b6d6c8..6fc20b0 100644 (file)
@@ -9,8 +9,8 @@ SYNOPSIS
 --------
 [verse]
 'git add' [-n] [-v] [--force | -f] [--interactive | -i] [--patch | -p]
-         [--all | [--update | -u]] [--refresh] [--ignore-errors] [--]
-         <filepattern>...
+         [--all | [--update | -u]] [--intent-to-add | -N]
+         [--refresh] [--ignore-errors] [--] <filepattern>...
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
@@ -92,6 +92,15 @@ OPTIONS
        and add all untracked files that are not ignored by '.gitignore'
        mechanism.
 
+
+-N::
+--intent-to-add::
+       Record only the fact that the path will be added later. An entry
+       for the path is placed in the index with no content. This is
+       useful for, among other things, showing the unstaged content of
+       such files with 'git diff' and commiting them with 'git commit
+       -a'.
+
 --refresh::
        Don't add the file(s), but only refresh their stat()
        information in the index.