git-send-email: SIG{TERM,INT} handlers
authorMichael Witten <mfwitten@MIT.EDU>
Mon, 4 Feb 2008 00:53:57 +0000 (19:53 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 5 Feb 2008 08:36:10 +0000 (00:36 -0800)
A single signal handler is used for both SIGTERM and
SIGINT in order to clean up after an uncouth termination
of git-send-email.

In particular, the handler resets the text color (this cleanup
was already present), turns on tty echoing (in case termination
occurrs during a masked Password prompt), and informs the user
of of any temporary files created by --compose.

Signed-off-by: Michael Witten <mfwitten@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-send-email.perl

index fec55ea..14268fc 100755 (executable)
@@ -24,8 +24,6 @@ use Data::Dumper;
 use Term::ANSIColor;
 use Git;
 
-$SIG{INT} = sub { print color("reset"), "\n"; exit };
-
 package FakeTerm;
 sub new {
        my ($class, $reason) = @_;
@@ -201,6 +199,29 @@ my %config_settings = (
     "aliasesfile" => \@alias_files,
 );
 
+# Handle Uncouth Termination
+sub signal_handler {
+
+       # Make text normal
+       print color("reset"), "\n";
+
+       # SMTP password masked
+       system "stty echo";
+
+       # tmp files from --compose
+       if (-e $compose_filename) {
+               print "'$compose_filename' contains an intermediate version of the email you were composing.\n";
+       }
+       if (-e ($compose_filename . ".final")) {
+               print "'$compose_filename.final' contains the composed email.\n"
+       }
+
+       exit;
+};
+
+$SIG{TERM} = \&signal_handler;
+$SIG{INT}  = \&signal_handler;
+
 # Begin by accumulating all the variables (defined above), that we will end up
 # needing, first, from the command line: