Fix "make GZ=1 quick-install-doc"
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 7 Aug 2007 04:15:15 +0000 (21:15 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 7 Aug 2007 04:16:21 +0000 (21:16 -0700)
The basic idea is from Mark Levedahl.  I do not use GZ=1 nor
quick-install-doc myself (there obviously is a chicken-and-egg
issue with quick-install-doc for me).

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/install-doc-quick.sh

index 07d227f..5433cf8 100755 (executable)
@@ -24,10 +24,8 @@ git read-tree $head
 git checkout-index -a -f --prefix="$mandir"/
 
 if test -n "$GZ"; then
-       cd "$mandir"
-       for i in `git ls-tree -r --name-only $head`
-       do
-               gzip < $i > $i.gz && rm $i
-       done
+       git ls-tree -r --name-only $head |
+       xargs printf "$mandir/%s\n" |
+       xargs gzip -f
 fi
 rm -f "$GIT_INDEX_FILE"