gitignore.txt: suggestions how to get literal # or ! at the beginning
authorNguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 03:13:54 +0000 (10:13 +0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 23:15:19 +0000 (16:15 -0700)
We support backslash escape, but we hide the details behind the phrase
"a shell glob suitable for consumption by fnmatch(3)". So it may not
be obvious how one can get literal # or ! at the beginning of pattern.
Add a few lines on how to work around the magic characters.

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/gitignore.txt

index c1f692a..14ade3e 100644 (file)
@@ -68,11 +68,15 @@ PATTERN FORMAT
    for readability.
 
  - A line starting with # serves as a comment.
+   Put a backslash ("`\`") in front of the first hash for patterns
+   that begin with a hash.
 
- - An optional prefix '!' which negates the pattern; any
+ - An optional prefix "`!`" which negates the pattern; any
    matching file excluded by a previous pattern will become
    included again.  If a negated pattern matches, this will
    override lower precedence patterns sources.
+   Put a backslash ("`\`") in front of the first "`!`" for patterns
+   that begin with a literal "`!`", for example, "`\!important!.txt`".
 
  - If the pattern ends with a slash, it is removed for the
    purpose of the following description, but it would only find