Add documentation for --track and --no-track to the git-branch docs.
authorFederico Mena Quintero <federico@novell.com>
Tue, 2 Oct 2007 23:33:30 +0000 (18:33 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Oct 2007 00:26:52 +0000 (17:26 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Federico Mena Quintero <federico@gnu.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-branch.txt

index 33bc31b..c839961 100644 (file)
@@ -91,6 +91,21 @@ OPTIONS
 --no-abbrev::
        Display the full sha1s in output listing rather than abbreviating them.
 
+--track::
+       Set up configuration so that git-pull will automatically
+       retrieve data from the remote branch.  Use this if you always
+       pull from the same remote branch into the new branch, or if you
+       don't want to use "git pull <repository> <refspec>" explicitly.  Set the
+       branch.autosetupmerge configuration variable to true if you
+       want git-checkout and git-branch to always behave as if
+       '--track' were given.
+
+--no-track::
+       When -b is given and a branch is created off a remote branch,
+       set up configuration so that git-pull will not retrieve data
+       from the remote branch, ignoring the branch.autosetupmerge
+       configuration variable.
+
 <branchname>::
        The name of the branch to create or delete.
        The new branch name must pass all checks defined by