files_initial_transaction_commit(): only unlock if locked
authorMathias Rav <m@git.strova.dk>
Thu, 18 Jan 2018 13:38:41 +0000 (14:38 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 19 Jan 2018 22:16:56 +0000 (14:16 -0800)
Running git clone --single-branch --mirror -b TAGNAME previously
triggered the following error message:

fatal: multiple updates for ref 'refs/tags/TAGNAME' not allowed.

This error condition is handled in files_initial_transaction_commit().

42c7f7ff9 ("commit_packed_refs(): remove call to `packed_refs_unlock()`", 2017-06-23)
introduced incorrect unlocking in the error path of this function,
which changes the error message to

fatal: BUG: packed_refs_unlock() called when not locked

Move the call to packed_refs_unlock() above the "cleanup:" label
since the unlocking should only be done in the last error path.

Signed-off-by: Mathias Rav <m@git.strova.dk>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
refs/files-backend.c

index a80d60a..afe5c4e 100644 (file)
@@ -2874,13 +2874,12 @@ static int files_initial_transaction_commit(struct ref_store *ref_store,
 
        if (initial_ref_transaction_commit(packed_transaction, err)) {
                ret = TRANSACTION_GENERIC_ERROR;
-               goto cleanup;
        }
 
+       packed_refs_unlock(refs->packed_ref_store);
 cleanup:
        if (packed_transaction)
                ref_transaction_free(packed_transaction);
-       packed_refs_unlock(refs->packed_ref_store);
        transaction->state = REF_TRANSACTION_CLOSED;
        string_list_clear(&affected_refnames, 0);
        return ret;