add: document the chmod option
authorThomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2016 21:08:15 +0000 (22:08 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2016 22:03:32 +0000 (15:03 -0700)
The git add --chmod option was introduced in 4e55ed3 ("add: add
--chmod=+x / --chmod=-x options", 2016-05-31), but was never
documented.  Document the feature.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-add.txt

index 6a96a66..7ed63dc 100644 (file)
@@ -11,7 +11,7 @@ SYNOPSIS
 'git add' [--verbose | -v] [--dry-run | -n] [--force | -f] [--interactive | -i] [--patch | -p]
          [--edit | -e] [--[no-]all | --[no-]ignore-removal | [--update | -u]]
          [--intent-to-add | -N] [--refresh] [--ignore-errors] [--ignore-missing]
-         [--] [<pathspec>...]
+         [--chmod=(+|-)x] [--] [<pathspec>...]
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
@@ -165,6 +165,11 @@ for "git add --no-all <pathspec>...", i.e. ignored removed files.
        be ignored, no matter if they are already present in the work
        tree or not.
 
+--chmod=(+|-)x::
+       Override the executable bit of the added files.  The executable
+       bit is only changed in the index, the files on disk are left
+       unchanged.
+
 \--::
        This option can be used to separate command-line options from
        the list of files, (useful when filenames might be mistaken