filter-branch: remove an unnecessary use of 'git read-tree'
authorJohannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 08:42:06 +0000 (09:42 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 16 Dec 2009 00:20:23 +0000 (16:20 -0800)
The intent of this particular call to 'git read-tree' was to fill an
index. But in fact, it only allocated an empty index. Later in the
program, the index is filled anyway by calling read-tree with specific
commits, and considering that elsewhere the index is even removed (i.e.,
it is not relied upon that the index file exists), this first call of
read-tree is completely redundant.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-filter-branch.sh

index 8ef1bde..cfead30 100755 (executable)
@@ -252,7 +252,6 @@ test -s "$tempdir"/heads ||
 
 GIT_INDEX_FILE="$(pwd)/../index"
 export GIT_INDEX_FILE
-git read-tree || die "Could not seed the index"
 
 # map old->new commit ids for rewriting parents
 mkdir ../map || die "Could not create map/ directory"