print an error message for invalid path
authorDmitry Potapov <dpotapov@gmail.com>
Sat, 11 Oct 2008 16:39:37 +0000 (20:39 +0400)
committerShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Sun, 12 Oct 2008 19:36:19 +0000 (12:36 -0700)
If verification of path failed, it is always better to print an
error message saying this than relying on the caller function to
print a meaningful error message (especially when the callee already
prints error message for another situation).

Because the callers of add_index_entry_with_check() did not print
any error message, it resulted that the user would not notice the
problem when checkout of an invalid path failed.

Signed-off-by: Dmitry Potapov <dpotapov@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
builtin-update-index.c
read-cache.c

index 417f972..3a2291b 100644 (file)
@@ -218,7 +218,7 @@ static int add_cacheinfo(unsigned int mode, const unsigned char *sha1,
        struct cache_entry *ce;
 
        if (!verify_path(path))
-               return -1;
+               return error("Invalid path '%s'", path);
 
        len = strlen(path);
        size = cache_entry_size(len);
index d7900f3..6f344f3 100644 (file)
@@ -608,8 +608,10 @@ struct cache_entry *make_cache_entry(unsigned int mode,
        int size, len;
        struct cache_entry *ce;
 
-       if (!verify_path(path))
+       if (!verify_path(path)) {
+               error("Invalid path '%s'", path);
                return NULL;
+       }
 
        len = strlen(path);
        size = cache_entry_size(len);
@@ -893,7 +895,7 @@ static int add_index_entry_with_check(struct index_state *istate, struct cache_e
        if (!ok_to_add)
                return -1;
        if (!verify_path(ce->name))
-               return -1;
+               return error("Invalid path '%s'", ce->name);
 
        if (!skip_df_check &&
            check_file_directory_conflict(istate, ce, pos, ok_to_replace)) {