Do not use h_errno after connect(2): the function does not set it
authorAlex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Tue, 12 Jun 2007 20:52:10 +0000 (22:52 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 16 Jun 2007 16:11:58 +0000 (09:11 -0700)
Randal L. Schwartz noticed compilation problems on SunOS, which made
me look at the code again. The thing is, h_errno is not used by
connect(2), it is only for functions from netdb.h, like gethostbyname.

Signed-off-by: Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
connect.c

index 7fab9c0..a5afd2a 100644 (file)
--- a/connect.c
+++ b/connect.c
@@ -224,11 +224,10 @@ static int git_tcp_connect_sock(char *host, int flags)
                }
                if (connect(sockfd, ai->ai_addr, ai->ai_addrlen) < 0) {
                        saved_errno = errno;
-                       fprintf(stderr, "%s[%d: %s]: net=%s, errno=%s\n",
+                       fprintf(stderr, "%s[%d: %s]: errno=%s\n",
                                host,
                                cnt,
                                ai_name(ai),
-                               hstrerror(h_errno),
                                strerror(saved_errno));
                        close(sockfd);
                        sockfd = -1;
@@ -315,11 +314,10 @@ static int git_tcp_connect_sock(char *host, int flags)
 
                if (connect(sockfd, (struct sockaddr *)&sa, sizeof sa) < 0) {
                        saved_errno = errno;
-                       fprintf(stderr, "%s[%d: %s]: net=%s, errno=%s\n",
+                       fprintf(stderr, "%s[%d: %s]: errno=%s\n",
                                host,
                                cnt,
                                inet_ntoa(*(struct in_addr *)&sa.sin_addr),
-                               hstrerror(h_errno),
                                strerror(saved_errno));
                        close(sockfd);
                        sockfd = -1;